2020 – The albums that got us through it – The Top 30

I can’t quite believe that we’ve reached December already. Santa is on his way and music geeks like me are thinking about which album will be number 1 on their list of the best this year.

Normally I would just be compiling a list of my favourite 10 albums of the year…but nothing is normal this year is it? In a year that Springsteen, Fallon, Rateliff, Bridgers & more released full length LPs – we would be looking at odds of even money when it comes to guessing the Top 5. There’s been far too many albums in the last 12 months that have played a major part in my life this year and it would be criminal not to give them an honourable mention at the end of such a year.

I’d thought about doubling the amount of records – The Best 20 in 2020 – it certainly had a nice ring to it but this year has had far more to offer than that.

So strap in…I think we may be breaking the record for word count on the website today.

30 – Creeper – “Sex, Death & The Infinite Void”

The Southampton rockers returned in July with their 2nd album, which had been pushed back from April to the summer due to the pandemic. I had browsed through the first album when it was released back in 2017 but it didn’t leave much of an impact. This album on the other hand is a big improvement – some great lyrics and the momentum to move forward. It certainly will be a great album live…whenever we get to hear it.

Favourite song – Poisoned Heart

29 – The Cribs – “Night Network”

The Jarman brothers – a band I always love to see bring out new music. The days of dancing around house parties to “Men’s Needs” are over a decade ago now but all things come to an end. The follow up to 24-7 Rock Star Shit, which made my list in 2017, the sound is less heavy on this record compared to its predecessor and I welcome that. It very much reminds me of the bands earlier material – its almost like JM is back in the band.

Favourite song – Under The Bus Station Clock

28 – Taylor Swift – “Folklore”

The album that will clinch top spot in many mainstream “Album of the Year” charts, Swift surprised everyone at the end of July by announcing it a few hours before release. As a radio presenter and music lover , the last couple of albums have bored me to tears, but this is completely different. Great song writing paired with the spontaneity of the record makes it one of her best…if not her best.

Favourite song – exile (feat Bon Iver)

27 – Katie Malco – “Failures”

Sometimes, the best music finds are the ones you stumble across by accident. If I remember it correctly, I’d been on the whisky all night and was having a late night Spotify browse. Katie, originally from Scotland but brought up in Northampton, released her debut back in early June to critical acclaim. I would describe her as the British version to Soccer Mommy – incredible vocals through a variety of dreamy songs. My favourite on the album is undoubtedly “Creatures”. Whenever I get to see Katie live, that driving anthem is the one I will be anticipating the most.

Favourite Song – Creatures

26 – Fleet Foxes – “Shore”

Admittingly, I’ve not followed Fleet Foxes much since the days of “Helplessness Blues” and “White Winter Hymnal” – great songs for playing in music class back in 2010. The great mix of usual folk elements mixed with Robin’s distinctive vocals is apparent on this album. A great record to get lost in during these times.

Favourite Song – Sunblind

25 – Ashley McBryde – “Never Will”

Following up “Girl Going Nowhere” was always going to be a hard ask for the Arkansas songwriter. That album was one of my favourites of 2018 and featured some of the best country song writing I’d heard in a while. “Never Will” is a great LP but doesn’t reach the heights of the previous album for me. “One Night Standards” and “Stone” showcase her incredible talent best on this record.

Favourite Song – One Night Standards

24 – Soccer Mommy – “Color Theory”

That awkward moment when you spell the title of this album “wrong” because you aren’t American **rolled eyes emoji**

The first album on the list so far that was released before the world went into meltdown in March, the 2nd studio album from the Nashville native is a dreamy guitar journey through a troubled world – its like she knew! The guitar tone and her gentle vocals that are quickly developing into her trademark are all over this record.

Favourite Song – Lucy

23 – Gerry Cinnamon – “The Bonny”

Like most people, I’d heard the majority of it before release day. The Castlemilk man brought out his 2nd album during the first weeks of lockdown to critical acclaim. Some might be surprised to see this album this far down the list. There are reasons for that. Although this is a great album , especially the title track and “Ghost”, I fear that the novelty of Gerry is starting to wear off with me. This album just didn’t hit home as much as Erratic Cinematic – don’t get me wrong – I can’t wait to hear it live, but the studio tracks didn’t set the bonny on fire for me personally.

22 – Fish – “Weltschmerz”

From one Scot to another. The man that appeared in nearly every zoom quiz I produced for the people of the Borders during the first lockdown – “The lyrics to which 80s hit are carved into the pavement in Gala Market Square?” Because of that, it wasn’t much of a surprise that “Kayleigh” was in my Spotify 2020 Wrapped.

The follow up to 2018’s “A Party With Angels”, this really is a masterpiece of an album. I’ve never really listened to much of Fish’s solo stuff before but this really has opened my eyes to the rest of his back catalogue. From the slow piano ballad “Garden of Remembrance” to the 12 minute anthem “Waverly Steps” – this album highlights how talented and diverse the 62 year old is.

Favourite Song – Waverly Steps (End of The Line)

21 – Kip Moore – “Wild World”

The next country music entry into this year’s Top 30 comes from another Nashville native. Kip Moore returned with his 4th studio album in May. This one was a long time coming after releasing “She’s Mine” in summer 2019 – which feels like 4 lifetimes ago now. Probably his best album overall to date, his signature gravely voice lends itself to great songs such as the title track, Southpaw and Janie Blu. Whenever we can get back into venues again, the “Wild Ones” singer is definitely one to watch.

Favourite song – Southpaw

20 – DMA’s – “The Glow”

A surprisingly low place on the list for the Aussie trio, the 3rd album was delayed and delayed before finally being released in July. A slight change of sound was apparent on the album, with the dance beats of first single “Life Is A Game Of Changing” ironically noting a change of style right from the off.

For me, this album hasn’t hit the heights of the previous two, this may be due to the fact I’ve not heard this record live yet. Their gig in Brixton was one of the last to take place in Britain before the world ended and the live version of “Silver” from that night is probably my most watched YouTube video of the year.

Favourite song – Silver

19 – Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – “Reunions”

In the same vein as Springsteen’s E Street Band, this year saw Jason Isbell’s 400 Unit return to the studio with the frontman. Released in May, this was probably the album that helped me the most through the final few weeks of the first lockdown. A personal album, like most of his work since getting sober in 2013, this record has the power of the 400 Unit behind him and propels the stories to the next level. From the acoustic gems such as “Only Children” to the war cry of “Be Afraid”, this album has played an important part in my life this year.

Favourite Song – Be Afraid

18 – Nothing But Thieves – Moral Panic

If this was a list of my favourite songs of the year, the Essex band probably would’ve had a top 3 spot on the list. The Killers-esque “Real Love Song” is one of my favourites of the year and is one of the reasons the 3rd studio album by the band has made the cut. Also featuring the singles “Impossible” and “Is Everybody Going Crazy” – which was ironically released the week of lockdown! – this record really has pushed the band to the next level and I personally believe it’s a big improvement on “Broken Machiney”

Favourite Song – Real Love Song

17 – The Waterboys – Good Luck, Seeker

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you… the legend that is Mr Mike Scott.

One of my favourite bands of all time returned in the summer with album number 14 and it certainly was an adventurous one. There’s a bit of everything on this album – elements of Jazz, Rock, Folk and even some dance beats. I don’t think this album will have resonated with every Waterboys fan but I think that’s part of the appeal of the album. There’s something for everyone. The 3 minute coda at the end of first single “My Wanderings in The Weary Land” is by far my favourite moment on the album.

Favourite song – “My Wanderings In The Weary Land”

16 – The Wall & I – “Introduction, Presence”

New Wave well and truly returned in the summer with the debut release by New York’s Nation of Language. The 3 piece brought the early 80s back to us with an eclectic mix of synths and sounds. This album was the perfect soundtrack to those few weeks in August when life felt (at least!) a little more normal – sunshine, catch ups and cheap scran thanks to “Eat Out To Help Out”.

Ian Devaney’s vocals are sublime throughout the record. The production of it is phenomenal too **desperately searches Garageband plugins and my own keyboard to see if any of the synths sound similar cause the sound is great**

Favourite Song – The Wall & I

15 – Bad Nerves – “Bad Nerves”

One of the most recent LPs to be released, East London’s Bad Nerves released this power punk shot of energy in late November. As I described it on social media at the time, the energy in this album is probably the equivalent of drinking 8 cans of Red Bull at once.

2 minute anthems that are short but high tempo, this is the sort of album that you just want to blast out the speakers and forget about everything else around you. Whenever we can get back into concert venues, this band are very very high on my list. With the songs being that short…at least I’ll definitely make the last train home!

Favourite song – Terminal Boy

14 – Ray Lamontagne – “Monovision”

One of my favourite vocalists of all time, the New Hampshire songwriter returned with his 8th studio album in June of this year. It was preceded by the first single “Strong Enough” which seemed like a joyful metaphor for what the world was going through at the time. Vocally, I honestly think this is one of his finest works. A flawless album from start to finish, my personal highlights are “I Was Born To Love You” and “Misty Morning Rain”

Favourite song – Misty Morning Rain

13 – AC/DC – PWR UP

The biggest compliment I can give to 2020…the greatest hard rock band of all time, brought out the most unexpected album of all time and took the world by complete surprise by returning with the best line up of the band, with one major player missing, and didn’t even make my top 10! That’s how good a year it’s been for music.

What will surely be their final studio album, but then again I said that 12 years ago when “Black Ice” was brought out, this is classic AC/DC – a recipe that hasn’t changed for 40 years, even if there has been a few changes of personnel. This one was definitely for Mal. “Through The Mists Of Time” is Brian’s favourite on the album and it’s mine also. A great tribute to the leader of the band throughout so many eras.

Favourite song – Through The Mists of Time

12 – Will Butler – “Generations”

We haven’t had an Arcade Fire album in the last 12 months…but a solo album from one of the core members was a welcome gift. The younger brother of frontman Win, Will returned with his 3rd solo attempt in September and it is packed full of the amazing talent of the multi-instrumentalist. From the dance vibes of “Hard Times” to “Surrender” – which has the sound and spirit of his band’s work – this album is exactly what I needed. The 3 year wait for new music from the Kings & Queen of indie rock doesn’t feel as long with this record in my collection.

11 – Chris Stapleton – “Starting Over”

His fourth studio album landed in mid November to critical acclaim – the only sort of acclaim the songwriter is used to. Following on from the “From A Room” albums, the title track arrived in August and really is the epitome of what I love about Stapleton’s music. A guitar, his outstanding voice and the harmonies of his wife Morgane. The usual mix of slow country ballads and dirty electric guitar riffs follows after the title track. Finally hearing a studio version of “You Should Probably Leave” was definitely the highlight of the record for me. A Masterpiece of an album…as usual!

Favourite Song – You Should Probably Leave

20 albums down, 10 to go. If anybody is even reading this, thanks for sticking with it! Music really has been more important than ever this year, and these are the albums that have shaped, brightened and moulded my 2020. Some cracking albums left to go through. Let’s get tore right in!

10 – Suburban Living – “How To Be Human”

Probably my favourite new discovery of the year, Virginia Beach’s Suburban Living dropped their 3rd album in late August this year. One of my favourite things to do every week is sit and browse the releases on albumoftheyear.org, and thanks to them, I found them. Sonically, this is one of the best albums I have heard in a very long time. The shoegaze guitars, the melodic synths and the evocative vocals blend together to create something truly special. From the slow “16 Hours” to the bouncing “Glow”, this album has become an important part of my collection this year. The list of bands I need to see live is reaching saturation point now!

Favourite Song – Glow

9 – Brooke Bentham – “Everyday Nothing”

When I was compiling my list for this year, this album very nearly didn’t make the cut. It seems like my mind is programmed to omit anything released before 23rd March. Life was a bit more normal when the South Shields writer dropped her debut on the last week of February. The singles from this album were the soundtrack to last winter – my personal favourite being the incredible “Perform For You”- whose dark guitars and powerful vocals create something truly special. The sleepy indie rock sound of this album makes it sound like its come straight out of 90’s America. If there was ever a soundtrack to a late night drive, it would be this – especially “Keep it Near”

Favourite Song – Perform For You

8. Nathaniel Rateliff – “And It’s Still Alright”

His first solo folk effort since forming The Night Sweats in 2015, Rateliff returned at the start of the year with an album filled with acoustic gems and thoughtful lyrics. I’ve always been someone who seems to get the January blues, and for him to release the first single during the month – much like he did with TNS 2 years ago – it really helps. The title track has been a huge help throughout this year, with it’s positive lyrics and tales of facing adversity.

I’ve never known a more versatile artist. I know him best as the leader of one of the most energetic and powerful live bands and its probably only been this year that I’ve really explored his folk stuff. One of the best songwriters of our times.

Favourite Song – Time Stands

7 – Billy Raffoul – “International Hotel”

A man that has released 2 albums this year (and it wouldn’t surprise me if there was another one before the year is out) it’s the studio album from August that’s made it onto the list. Recorded in his girlfriend’s bedroom in Ontario earlier this year, it’s obviously easy for me to draw comparisons to Springsteen’s “Nebraska” because of the way it was captured, but this record is filled with stories and songs that are a personal reflection of the Canadian’s life.

The amazing title track is an ode to his father Jody (an outstanding musician in his own right) was one of the first signs that this album had a different vibe from some of his previous EPs. The stripped backed, self engineered sound is the best I’ve ever heard him sound, and a big reason why it earns a spot in the top 10.

Favourite Song – Truth Be Told (I Like You)

6 – The Killers – “Imploding The Mirage”

I’ve obviously talked a lot in this colossal article about how certain songs and albums helped me through the chaos that is 2020, Flowers and Co have certainly helped this year. I’ve always kind of drifted in and out with Killers albums. Hot Fuss and Sam’s Town are two important albums to me while others have not been as keen on – the last two haven’t cut the mustard for me.

But when “My Own Soul’s Warning ” was released in June, I remember listening to it on the radio while heading down to see the family for the first time 3 months in the beaming sunshine. That feeling of slight normality again I’ve associated with that song ever since. Other standout songs on the record are “Caution” and the title track. Definitely the best record by the band in over a decade.

Favourite Song- My Soul’s Own Warning

5 – Kelly Jones – “Don’t Let The Devil Take Another Day”

Normally, I would only allow studio albums on this list…but I had to make an exception here. I did write a full review about the album last week and the main thing I talked about was how this record really took me back to normal times.

It was June last year that I saw this show live in Glasgow, a lot has happened and changed since, and listening to those classic Phonics songs played stripped back and without the band again took me right back. The rarities are the highlights of this album, especially “I Stopped To Fill My Car Up” and the ukulele version of “Rewind”

The most open and honest gig that Kelly will ever perform…and it’s a great feeling knowing we can listen to it in full once again.

Favourite Song – I Stopped To Fill My Car Up

4 – Brian Fallon – “Local Honey”

One of my most anticipated records of the year, the man from Red Bank, NJ turned up at just at the right time. Released on the first New Music Friday after lockdown had been announced, this stripped back and toned down album of gems was the lifesaver at the time. Certainly different from “Sleepwalkers”, this record included beautiful songs such as “You Have Stolen My Heart” and “When You’re Ready” which provided a lot of calm in amongst the chaos of the time.

8 songs of pure emotion. It’s actually quite ironic that it sounds like an album that many artists have made during lockdown. Raw without much production…but instead it was the album that got me through lockdown.

Favourite Song – “When You’re Ready”

3 – Phoebe Bridgers – “Punisher”

I’ve always been a fan of Phoebe’s music – whether it be solo or as part of one of the many supergroups she just so happens to be in. Solo album #2 landed in mid June, a day before the expected release date. I think this album is a perfect mix of everything she has done so far – the amazing acoustic songs (Graceland Too) and the anthems that will sound epic live (I Know The End) and this variety is a massive part of her sound. As a guitarist, it’s one of those LPs that as soon as you listen to it, you are grabbing your six strings and trying to work the songs out (and the guitar tones!)

Favourite Song – Graceland Too

2 – Bruce Springsteen – “Letter To You

It would just be too obvious for him and the band to be at Number 1 wouldn’t it?

The Boss returned with the band for the first time in 6 years. This was an album that had been talked about for nearly 2 years amongst the fans and I was finally glad to get some clarity when it was confirmed in early September. Hearing that E Street sound on an album again was rather emotional, especially the songs that he wrote 50 years ago but only recorded for this album. It’s been nearly 2 months but the entire album is still in my “On Repeat” playlist on Spotify and “Janey Needs A Shooter” is still top of the list. A really special album and probably his best since The Rising in 2002.

Favourite Song – Janey Needs A Shooter

1 – A Blaze Of Feather – “Labyrinth”

So we have finally reached the summit (my fingers are incredibly sore!)

My number 1 album of 2020 comes from the same people that produced my number 1 album of 2018! The Cornish supergroup featuring Mickey Smith, Ben Howard & Nat Wason, A Blaze Of Feather released their 2nd album in August and it has played such a big part of my life ever since. I don’t think there is a more sonically sound group in the world right now, the way they use the synths, sounds and guitars still mesmerises me to this day. From “Fields” to “Magpie”, this album is an absolute sonic masterpiece. They are still criminally underrated and both albums are records that you need in your collection.

What a year it has been. It’s been a tough one but when you have this amount of quality music to drown out the rest of the world in, it makes it easier.

As Springsteen once said, “The Best Music Is Simply There To Give You Something To Face The World With”

Merry Christmas and all that…

Cheers

RB

Leave a comment