“The West Cornwall Wonder” – A Blaze of Feather’s Labyrinth in 44 minutes

A couple of years ago, when I was attempting to write about music during my short lived “Fresh Strings” project, I always tried to write a review about an album within the time it takes to listen to the album in full…

It’s Friday morning and one of my most anticipated albums of the year was released at midnight. Sounds like the perfect time to bring back the “hope you are bloody quick at typing cause you only have 10 songs” format.

It’s been 3 years since Mickey Smith and co brought out the self titled debut album and it would probably make the Top 5 in the list of my favourite albums of the past decade. I remember discovering it in the early hours of a Friday morning in the summer of 2017 and was absolutely mesmerised by the sound and the visuals of the album. They were captivating.

The wait has been long but LP2 finally dropped this morning…and I’ve got 44 mins to get this done!

3…2…1…GO!

Our first taste of the album as soon as the needle hits the vinyl is “Killing the Reverie”. The intro sounds like an old F1 car at full revs. I love it. This song is a perfect introduction, especially to someone who perhaps hasn’t heard the first album. It feels like it picks up where LP1 finished. It’s a nice reminder of what made the first album so special

The title track is one of my favourite songs on the album. The opening riff played loudly through headphones this morning nearly made me deaf…but what an introduction. The layering of the vocals is one of the best attributes of the band and it’s on full show here.

“Magpie” is next. The second single which has been out for a couple of weeks now. It’s a gorgeous song with an acoustic guitar and Mickey’s vocal range put to the test. It’s rare that you are wishing that a 6 minute song was longer. The ambient outro with guitar improv over the top is outstanding! “Don’t let the fog thieve the last of your laments alive’

Witching Hour is probably the most intriguing song on the record. 6 mins of pure music. Columbo would struggle to find the lyrics in this song. A great mix of ambient sounds and drums. The same can be said for the short “Kanndir” which almost sounds like an instrumental you would find on an album by The 1975.

As a broadcaster, is it weird that one of my favourite moments on this album is the segue from Kanndir into Fields? Probably!

For me, this song brings to this album what “Requiem” brought to the first – especially in the opening minute or two. Mickey’s voice during this song is the best I’ve ever heard it. Those vocal runs are outstanding. Definitely a favourite of mine.

Following the 34 seconds of “Serpentine”, we move into the most familiar song on the album. Clock Hands was the first single taken from LP2.

“There are times I wish that I could turn back the clock hands – I watch the pictures run through my head again and again”

The entire feel of this song is the essence of this project. The ambient sounds, the incredible melody and the visuals it creates – especially when you watch it with the music video. They’ve honestly released this album at the right time, considering Spotify now have the option to view clips from the music video instead of the album art – which is also stunning.

“A Time of Low Frequency” makes me think of two words – SAW BASS!

I don’t know if it is “Saw Bass” before anyone hates on me here but it just reminds me of messing about on GarageBand! The last 2 minutes of this song is nothing like we’ve heard from A Blaze of a Feather before. It hints towards the electronic influences you can hear throughout the album.

I’ve got 3 mins left! We are let out the exit door of this album with the aptly named “Gentle Man”

This is the band at its best. Very much the “Behold” of this album – vocals, some gentle synth sounds and a beat. It’s really all you need, especially when you are as talented as everyone in this band.

….annnnnnnd we are done. I’ve got no time left to check my grammar. Corrections on a postcard please! I’m away to listen to this masterpiece again.

Stay safe

RB x

Leave a comment