The Underrated Happiness of Going to a Gig Alone…

I started writing this last year, when I was still (badly) attempting to continue the blog I had set up in order to write a little bit about my favourite music… but a conversation I had with someone the other day reignited my desire to finish this off.

“So who you going to this gig with tonight?”

“I’m just going myself?

“WHAAAAAATTTTT????”

A conversation I’ve had a good few times over the years. Does this mean I’m a loser with no pals? Does this mean I have no life? Does this mean I’m socially awkward? Nope…I don’t think so anyway.

Some of my favourite gigs have involved me sitting by myself on the train with headphones in, standing quietly in the queue outside surrounded by the buzz and chatter of fellow gig goers and then going up to the bar to buy a single pint.

Manics at the Hydro in April 2018

Now I will say at this point, I do love attending gigs with pals (before you regulars start questioning your friendships with me!) This isn’t an attack on your company at concerts Haha! Merely an observation about times I fly solo!

I won’t say that this has always been the case. The idea of doing this a few years ago was non-existent. Many a favourite band of mine would come to town, someone too obscure for some of my friends to like and I would simply have to post an emotional “wish I was there” tweet as I sat at work or in the house feeling sorry for myself.

Cause lets face it – there’s nothing worse in this world than dragging someone along to make up the numbers that couldn’t care less. You are there living every lyric, whilst they stand with their arms crossed and check their phone every 30 seconds to see if its time to go home yet.

Front row for Stereophonics last year

So it got to a point where things changed…

More and more of my favourites came to town – and more and more of them I attended alone. Some were intentional, some weren’t. Stereophonics, Manic Street Preachers, The Wandering Hearts, Ocean Colour Scene all came and went.

I love the spontaneity of it. Some of these gigs I only decided to go to less than 12 hours before showtime. No need to wait on someone else to confirm whether or not they can make it – and no trying to flog an extra ticket if no one wants to go with you.

You can turn up when you want – no need to miss that exciting support act which is full of potential cause your pals want to stay for one last drink in the pub. We’ve all been there.

The Wandering Hearts underneath a massive moon!

I will come back to this every few paragraphs! About 75% of the gigs I go to are with other people and I do love your company. Some people are probably taking this really personally by now – yes I’m talking about you Zoe Borthwick!

As I’ve already mentioned, one of my favourite reasons for doing this is never missing out. Who else would want an overnight stay in Manchester just to see a rare and intimate acoustic set by Brian Fallon? In my friendship group…yeah only me!

One of the best things about this is meeting and chatting to so many different people. (yes I’m aware you can also do this when you are with pals) My favourite example of this is Nathaniel Rateliff at the Barrowlands in January. I’m standing up against one of the pillars at the edge of the floor and I start chatting to this group of gig goers from Fife. We talked about our love for music and many pints were shared. By the time Nathaniel was belting out “SOB” – we were all in a huddle dancing and shouting every word. Music unites us all.

The legendary OCS

I’ve ended up going to gigs in other countries and exploring different venues because of this acceptance that its completely ok to go to a gig on your own. A trip to Dublin was always on the cards before the end of last year. A chance to be in my favourite city to catch up with some pals but I also used that opportunity outside of those plans to head to The Academy to catch Pale Waves, since I missed the SWG3 date. A new venue ticked off my list – and I did it alone.

And I think that’s what it all comes down to…Music is a personal thing. In many ways, it unites us and brings us together but there’s a long part of that journey that is walked alone. Attending gigs by yourself really brings that personal connection with the music out.

I’ve created so many amazing memories with so many amazing people at gigs and festivals since the first day a group of us ventured through arena doors as teenagers. I treasure them greatly and can’t wait to make more. This has merely been me finding another way to enjoy the live environment. I enjoy both.

So next time your favourite band comes to town – are you going to miss it or not?

Cheers

RB x

Leave a comment